Saturday, August 18th, 2018

No Banner to display

Greater Cleveland Sports Commission 2012 Greater Cleveland Sport

Christine and Spencer Dieken, Doug Dieken, Rita Jasien and Bob Dieken (Greater Cleveland Sports Commission)

Jimmy and Dee Haslam
(Greater Cleveland Sports Commission))

Greg Pruitt and Hanford Dixon
(Greater Cleveland Sports Commission)

Scott Van Pelt and David Gilbert
(Greater Cleveland Sports Commission)

Greater Cleveland Sports Commission
2012 Greater Cleveland Sports Awards

            The outstanding achievements of amateur, collegiate and professional athletes were recognized at the 13th annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards benefiting the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission.
    ESPN SportsCenter Anchor Scott Van Pelt was emcee for the dinner and program attended by more than 1,200 people at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. According to David Gilbert, GCSC president and CEO, this year’s event drew more legendary sports figures than ever before, making the evening an autograph mecca for sports fans.
    The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Doug Dieken, the former Cleveland Browns Pro Bowl offensive lineman and since 1985, the Browns radio network color commentator. Mr. Dieken’s nonprofit foundation helps underwrite the Special Olympics, garnering him the Byron “Whizzer” White NFL Man of the Year Award in 1982.
    The 2012 award recipients were Mentor High School student Mitch Trubisky, football; USA Track & Field Amateur Athlete Tianna (Madison) Bartoletta; Kent State University Baseball Team, Collegiate Award; Cleveland Cavaliers’ guard Kyrie Irving, Professional Athlete; and Notre Dame Academy soccer player Molly Miller, the Cleveland Clinic Sports Health Courage Award. The Horseshoe Casino Cleveland 2012 Best Moment in Cleveland Sports Award was given for the St. Ignatius vs. Mentor Ohio High School Athletic Football Playoffs Association. STORY AND PHOTOGRAPHS BY KATHRYN RIDDLE 

QR Code – Take this post Mobile!
Use this unique QR (Quick Response) code with your smart device. The code will save the url of this webpage to the device for mobile sharing and storage.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment

Right Webutation
Currents News
Other Publications
Currents News
P.O. Box 150 525 E. Washington St.
Chagrin Falls, OH 44022
Phone: (440) 247-5335
Copyright © 2018 Currents News